AURORA became the 79th Province of the Philippines and got its name from the First Lady of Philippine Commonwealth and the First President of Philippine National Red Cross, DONA AURORA ARAGON QUEZON.

Manuel Luis Quezon was born in Baler, Aurora, and was tagged, “Ama ng Wikang Pambansa.”  Baler played a significant role in the Philippine Revolution when Filipino Revolutionaries sieged the Church of Baler while 50 Spanish soldiers took refuge in the church for 11 months.

The Philippine-Spanish Friendship Day celebrated every June 30 is a testimony of an enduring friendship between the two countries when the survivors of the Baler siege were treated as friends of the Republic rather than Prisoners of War.

The first communities of Aurora are the Dumagat and Egongots with evidence of rich commercial undertakings even before the towns of Baler and Casiguran were discovered and converted into Christianity.

The celebration of fiestas and religious activities are indicative of the Spanish influences in Aurora and is a part of the local heritage and an inspiration to every generation. Truly, AURORA is a haven of cultural diversity.

House of Doña Aurora

Dumagat Tribesmen

Egongot Tribesmen

Enseladang Pako

Statue of President Manuel L. Quezon


San Luis Obispo Church